Nathan Quinn has taken out the Gary’s Motorsport Tyres NSW Rally Championship, following his win in the final round at Rally Australia on 19th September. For the second consecutive year, Quinn has narrowly won the Championship over Peter Roberts, who finished the event in third place.

Quinn Calder

Nathan Quinn & David Calder

Tony Sullens & Kaylie Newell

The duo were trading times at each event throughout the year in a tightly fought battle. The final round of the Championship saw Roberts hampered by dust early in the first pass of the 50km Nambucca stage, giving Quinn a 49 second lead, which he went on to extend to 1 minute 18 seconds by the end of the day. With Adrian Coppin finishing second in the NSWRC field, Roberts collected 36 points from the event, Quinn 40, giving Quinn the title. Peter Roberts’ co-driver, Andrew Crowley scooped enough points on the day to give him the title of 1st outright co-driver in the Championship. Suffering from heatstroke during the event, Crowley’s efforts to guide Roberts through the challenging stages were commendable, and the title is a fitting result. Competing in the Citroen DS3, Tony Sullens and Kaylie Newell finished the event in third place, elevating Sullens to third outright in the Championship.   Heading into the final round at Coffs Harbour, Tim Wilkins led the pointscores, with Tom Clarke narrowly behind. A broken gearbox towards the end of the first stage put to bed any of Wilkins’ hopes of a podium finish, unfortunate after a near-flawless year competing in the Nissan S15 Silvia. Clarke was driving to impress at the event, but was unable to catch the Evos of Quinn and Roberts, and had to settle for 7th place in the event. Tom Dermody and Eoin Moynihan in the red Escort once again took out the Pocket-Rocket class, and Moynihan finished the year with enough points to see him finish third overall co-driver.

Dermody Moynihan 1

Tom Dermody & Eoin Moynihan

Rally Australia was included in the 2016 Gary’s Motorsport Tyres NSW Rally Championship following a lengthy collaboration between the NSW Rally Panel and the event organisers. The NSWRC component of the event was designed to provide State-level competitors an opportunity to compete at the most prestigious and exciting event on the Australian rally calendar, without the typical time and cost commitments required by such an event. The NSWRC was conducted over the six Saturday stages of Rally Australia only, giving crews 130 tough, competitive kilometres. Competitor feedback from the event has been extremely positive, and the event will remain on the NSW Rally Calendar for 2017.   The 2016 pointscores have been finalised, and the outright Championship winners are:

Driver Co-Driver
1st Nathan Quinn Andrew Crowley
2nd Peter Roberts Katie Fletcher
3rd Tony Sullens Eoin Moynihan

Information on the presentation for the NSW Rally Championship will be released shortly on