The 2018 MTA NSW Rally Championship ended the way it started. It was a battle of the Lancer Evo’s. Throughout the year, each round of the championship would see a thrilling fight for the podium between the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo’s of Glenn Brinkman/Harvey Smith, JJ Hatton/Nathan Long, Tim Wilkins/Jim Gleeson and Tom Clarke/Ryan Preston.

Throw into that mix the Evo of Ron Moore and a host of other Lancers, 2018 really was the year of the Evo in NSW.

The eventual winner was the Brinkman and Smith combination who won nearly every round they entered.  In the 2WD Category, Thomas Dermody and Eoin Moynihan would take victory in their Ford Escort RS1800. For a complete review of the championship Season, check out the video.

Another six rounds will challenge drivers in the coming year, with a new rally to the north of the state that will be a combined rally with the Queensland championship. We’ll also see the National Capital Rally back on the calendar for 2019.