Motorsport Australia NSW Rally Calendar Announced for 2022!

The Motorsport Australia NSW Rally Panel is thrilled to announce the Motorsport Australia NSW Rally Calendar for 2022 which includes some exciting changes and new innovations.

In recent years, each round of the NSW Rally Championship has been contested as two heats for the purposes of compiling the point score, in a similar fashion to the Motorsport Australia Australian Rally Championship (ARC).

With the Bega Valley Toyota Rally traditionally held over two days on the Queen’s Birthday long weekend in June, the competitive distance on Day 1 is roughly twice the distance on Day 2.  Scoring the event with one heat on Day 1 and the second heat on Day 2 sets up an uneven weighting between the two heats, which ideally should be as close as possible to equal distances.

To introduce some excitement and greater flexibility, the NSW Rally Panel has approved the event to be scored as three heats, with two heats contested on the Saturday and the third heat on the Sunday.

2021 was a year of great uncertainty and constant change to the schedule.  “We have set aside the Labour Day long weekend in October as a “reserve day” in case Bega needs to be postponed,” said Adriana Pallister, Chair of the NSW Rally Panel.  Other pre-determined dates have been set aside as “reserve dates” to accommodate postponements for other events if required.  It is hoped this will deliver an extra level of certainty for competitors and organisers.

The NSW Rally Championship will comprise five events with the season opener being the Netier National Capital Rally in Canberra.  The NSWRC will share this event with the ARC, along with Rally NSW in November, and each will be run over two days for ARC competitors.  For NSWRC competitors, Day 1 of these events will be scored as two heats as in previous years. However, for these events, NSWRC crews will now have the option to also enter the Sunday stages to be scored as a third heat given that these events aren’t held on long weekends.

“This will give NSW crews maximum flexibility to contest as many heats as they wish,” said Adriana Pallister.

For 2022, the East Coast Classic Rally Series – 2WD and East Coast Classic Rally Series – 4WD will truly live up to its name with not only events in NSW, but an event each in the ACT, Queensland, South Australia and Victoria with the season opener being the Victorian Mitta Mountain Rally in March.

Both these Series will also run on a heat system.  “Competitors in both Series of the East Coast Classic will be spoiled for choice with a wide selection of eight events all having their own unique characteristics” said Adriana.  She added, “The 4WD Series had been created as the early Subaru and Mitsubishi 4WD rally cars are now considered as “Classics””.

The Clubman Rally Series and Hyundai Rally Series will be in lock step across seven events with Hyundai competitors also receiving Clubman points if their NSW Rally Seeding deems them eligible.  The opening round in February will be the Mini Eden Rally based out of Towamba near Eden.

Though not a round of a NSW Rally Series, the Monaro Stages Rally starting out of Bombala, NSW is a significant event on the NSW Rally Calendar and is scheduled to run on October 22, 2022.

Stay tuned for an exciting announcement regarding the introduction of an S1 Rallysprint Series designed to encourage the development of grassroots rallying in NSW.

Click here, for the full calendar of each Series.

Click here, for the Competition Conditions – providing details on how many heats/events will count towards determining the winner for each Series.

Click here, to view the full NSW Rally calendar including Event Reserve dates and heats for each event.